Grain-less Birthday Cake

Standard

Grain-less Birthday Cake

A.K.A.

Experimentation

Well well well…

This has been interesting, if not always tasty.

My roommates’ BIRTHDAY is quickly approaching and I am attempting to bake him a cake!

But not just any cake….

A grain-less, sugar-free, low-calorie, moist and delicious cake.

A feat that at this moment seems slightly (very) impossible….

For the latest eating challenge that I’m doing my roomie has decided to create his own challenge and get down with Clean Eating! YAY!

Thats why this cake has so many requirements, he needs to be able to eat it while not breaking his challenge!!!

My first attempt was last night, a Chocolate Chai batter.

They were gross, even greek yogurt with splenda and vanilla extract couldn’t save them.

Sad.

Today I tried an Apple Sauce, All Spice, Coffee batter.

Cupcakes #1,2 were pretty bland tasting and very wet/dense in the middle.

Cupcakes #3,4 were a little more tasty, a little more ‘dry’ but still moist and gooey feeling in the center

Cupcake #5 was the best in flavor and the closest to having the right texture and consistency but still pretty soft and mushy in the middle. #5 is the winner but I think if I try again I would add more baking powder to give the batter more lift, maybe try baking the batter in something flat so there is less thickness and density to create the mushy center. My cupcake stuck to my wrapper quite a bit but the parts that stuck were really good and crispy.

RECIPES

HERE

Brownie Cake

.Hare Nutrition = Speedy Kitchen

Leave a Reply

